Losing a loved one is always difficult. Suddenly, you can’t call them or see them every day, and you might get overwhelmed by the strength of your emotions. You might forget to take care of yourself and start to shut other people out. And even though it might seem like the only way at the moment, losing yourself to grief isn’t an option. Instead, acknowledge your emotions and ease yourself through the five stages of grief. Remember to keep up with your self-care and ask for help when you need it. Here are the gentle ways to deal with grief and move from heartbreak to healing.

Stay On Top Of Your Self-Care Routine

It might be easy to forget about your well-being when you’re grieving – and it’s understandable. After all, it could be hard to believe that your loved one is truly gone. And when the emotions hit you, it can be difficult to find your way back to light. However, you need to take care of yourself even when you’re going through hard times. Give yourself time to digest the change and get plenty of rest. You could also turn to a hobby that you’ve always loved. That way, you might be able to protect your health and overall well-being.

Reflect And Remember The Happy Moments

Despite the overwhelming power of negative emotions, you should take time to remember and honour the happy memories you’ve had with your loved one. But how can you do that? One of the first steps could be attending the funeral. That could help you to deal with your feelings better. It might be challenging to pick the right outfit for such a heartbreaking occasion. Companies like Suitsmen offer a limited choice of funeral suits for men, so you have one less worry on your mind. Then, you could fully focus on your feelings and be gentle to yourself.

Acknowledge Your Feelings

While some people might drown in their grief, others could try to ignore the negative feelings completely. However, that’s not good for you either. Pushing the emotions to the side and keeping yourself busy with work could be damaging to your well-being and affect your health. Instead, accept your feelings and let them flow through your being. The five stages of grief are only natural and common. Denial, anger, bargaining, depression, acceptance – those stages can help you to deal with your grief and make it easier to accept the change.

Ask For Help When You Need It

It might seem like you’re all alone in your grief. But that’s not true. In your close circle, there might be others who are going through similar emotions. Try to talk with them, and maybe you could discuss what you’re going through. Or you could simply share your favourite memories of the loved one you’ve lost. You might also want to turn to your family and friends. They would understand that you need support and help you to go through the most difficult moments. And when it doesn’t help, you might want to turn to a qualified professional who could help you to navigate your life through the upsetting times.


Northern girl Laura is the epitome of a true entrepreneur. Laura’s spirit for adventure and passion for people blaze through House of Coco. She founded House of Coco in 2014 and has grown it in to an internationally recognised brand whilst having a lot of fun along the way. Travel is in her DNA and she is a true visionary and a global citizen.

Comments are closed.