3 ways to virtually satiate your wanderlust this weekend with Discover Puerto Rico

Puerto Rico is an incredibly diverse and beautiful island, making it a treasure-trove for travel fanatics. [...]

Puerto Rico is an incredibly diverse and beautiful island, making it a treasure-trove for travel fanatics. Despite the current pause on our travels, we can still enjoy some cultural highlights and take the time to learn more about Puerto Rico. This weekend, Discover Puerto Rico is offering virtual salsa, cooking and mixology classes with some of Puerto Rico’s best local talent, giving participants a chance to immerse themselves in the local culture.

Learn Salsa on Friday, March 27 from 19:00 – 20:00 p.m. ET (23:00 – 00:00 a.m. GMT)

This salsa lesson will give a brief overview of basic salsa steps from notable salsa dancers, Tito and Tamara, and will then turn into a salsa dance party so that participants can have some fun from the comfort of their homes. Tito Ortos and his partner Tamara Livolsi are both choreographers to the stars including El Gran Combo, Gilberto Santa Rosa, and Víctor Manuelle.

To join, log into Zoom for free via https://zoom.us/j/293759126 (Meeting ID #293-759-126). All you need is an internet connection and a webcam, no experience is necessary.

Cocktail Making on Saturday, March 28 from 19:00 – 19:30 p.m. ET (23:00 – 23:30 GMT)

If you love a beautifully crafted beverage then you will not want to miss this mixology session. Top bartender on the Island, Roberto Berdecia, co-owner of acclaimed La Factoría and Jungle Bird, will be serving up one of his favourites. La Factoría in Old San Juan is celebrating its fifth year as one of the World’s 50 Best Bars for its renowned hospitality, cocktails and authentic atmosphere. Plus, it was even featured in the music video for Despacito.

To participate, join via Instagram Live at @discoverpuertorico

Cooking Class on Sunday, March 29 from 19:00 – 19:30 p.m. ET (00:00 – 00:30 BST)

Chef Wilo Benet, from Wilo eatery and bar, will walk participants through one of his favourite dishes you can easily whip up from home. He has redefined Puerto Rican cuisine, and in that process, has put the Island’s enchanting flavours on the global map. Chef Benet defines his culinary style as contemporary global cuisine, a concept that combines traditional Puerto Rican ingredients with Japanese, Chinese, Thai, Spanish, Italian, French and Arab influences.

To participate, join via Instagram Live at @discoverpuertorico

To discover all the beauty the Island has to offer, visit DiscoverPuertoRico.com.

More in…

Melanie Marti
Screenshot 2020-10-22 at 11.49.09
22/10/2020
Seasonal food and drink is always exciting, especially when autumn means halloween, and bonfire night.
Scroll to Top